Like MacArthur…


dave_hampton_1975_09_01

Doing reviews for Gaming Trend has been fun, but it’s certainly taken away from my ability to post here. So I’m trying to establish a routine to where I can do both. I love writing reviews for them, but war games are few and far between while football games are absent altogether. I miss just writing for writing’s sake, so here I am!

I’ve played several games lately I’d like to do some reviews here on. This requires a bit of a rewrite on my part if it’s a game I’ve reviewed for Gaming Trend as I prefer my style here to the style I need to write for them. I also have some reviews of games you won’t find on their site that I have played and would like to discuss.

That said, gaming wise I spent most of the spring playing my mega league in Statis Pro Basketball, but I’ve gotten some 1973 Second Season Replays in. Here’s some recaps:

 

Falcons Blast Inept Saints

If there’s ever a bad side to playing football simulations, it’s when you play a game between two teams with painful to watch offenses. This was the case for much of the game, as Atlanta clung to a 13-3 lead heading into the final quarter. Then, the flood gates opened. Dave Hampton scored from seven yards out, and after a botched kickoff, Ken Mitchell tackled the returner in the end zone for a safety. Set up by a deep Bobby Lee pass to Tom Geredine, Hampton rumbled in from five yards out and within three minutes the Falcons had blown open a 29-3 lead. The misery continued to pile on for the Saints as Archie Manning’s deep pass to Jubilee Dunbar was intercepted by Ray Brown and returned 64 yards for a score. A tipped Manning pass fell into the hands of Jess Phillips for a 42 yard score and slowed the bleeding some, but Manning was sacked in the end zone on the next drive by Tommy Nobis and Mike Lewis, ending the scoring at 36-10. In all, New Orleans managed just 188 yards of offense and Manning ended the game with a disappointing state line, 8 for 22, 136 yards, a touchdown and an interception. Manning was also sacked four times. Atlanta should feel fortunate to come away with such a resounding victory considering they gained only 281 yards themselves.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

